The Precious Metal Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Go down
ArcaneCollector
ArcaneCollector

Stacking vs collecting for long term wealth preservation (UK) Empty Stacking vs collecting for long term wealth preservation (UK)

Thu Jun 02, 2022 6:22 pm
Hi all

Silver newbie here, so apologies if this topic has been covered to death already. In the UK the mark-up on silver is around 45-60% due to dealer premiums and VAT. So I appreciate that the strategy for sing silver for wealth preservation needs to be a long term one, on the assumption that the value will steadily grow over time. (or perhaps using silver this purpose is daft, and you should stick to gold for wealth preservation and keep silver collecting as a fun hobby?)

So what are the best coins to buy for this purpose? Is it best to try and buy the cheapest secondary market bullion coins or collectible coins? When it comes to selling them in the future, to me, bullion coins will always just have a value somewhere around spot on the day. Will collectible coins retain a higher value vs spot (or increase in value)? Or does this depend entirely on how popular they may be? For example, the Queens Beasts coins seem to be fetching higher prices than what people bought them for, due to the current popularity of the series and collectors wanting to fill gaps in their collections. But move forward 10 years. Will they still be worth more per ounce than standard bullion coins, or as collectors may have moved on to the latest shiny toy, they are just essentially bullion coins?

Thoughts welcome Smile

Admin, The Cat's Mother, Rod Panhard and Batman not Robin like this post

Stacking vs collecting for long term wealth preservation (UK) Empty Re: Stacking vs collecting for long term wealth preservation (UK)

Thu Jun 02, 2022 7:57 pm
All welcome here!!! Smile